Dream Interpretation – Understanding The Sleep Cycle

Before understanding what is happening in the dreaming mind and what this means, it is advisable to understand the sleep cycle within this sleep cycle and the function of sleep in the dream. Dream sleep is another part of the sleep cycle that differs from other types of sleep in almost every respect. The sleep cycle consists of four different phases, and everyone experiences some such sleep cycles on a typical night. An average full sleep cycle lasts 90-120 minutes, so an average of 8 hours of sleep can include four or more individual sleep cycles.


Stage 1

During the first stage of sleep, the sleeper's eyes roll back irregularly. For this reason, this sleep phase is called REM sleep, or REM sleep. This stage usually occurs 90 to 100 minutes after the first sleep begins. During this sleep period, blood pressure rises, heart rate and breathing increase, and it can also be unstable. At this stage of sleep, the voluntary muscles are paralyzed. This stage of sleep is the stage where most dreams come.


Stage 2

Stage two is a light sleep, and it is characterized by non-rapid eye movements. In this stage of sleep, the muscles relax and the heart rate drops. This stage of sleep prepares the body for deeper sleep.


Stage 3 and 4

Stages three and four also feature non rapid eye movements.  During the third and fourth stages of the sleep cycle, the body goes to sleep. I'm completely asleep in both phases, but Phase 4 is more intense than Phase 3.


All four phases of sleep are repeated throughout the sleep period, usually four to seven times. Every time the sleeper enters REM sleep, a dream arises. Sometimes dreamers remember dreams made earlier in the night, but for the most part, dreams are recalled that are closest to awakening. However, researchers do know that dreaming occurs during every four to seven REM sleep sessions.


Why not try: Dreams Interpretation Reiki